Home Contact Us Profile Experience Information Sessions Salary Announcements Coursework Lecturers and Staff Exam Enrollment Program Schedule Fees & Conditions Latest News Testimonials Attorney Placements

Inter Alia few of the many Testimonials

Dallas, TX - South America
Partner Akerman LLP 2016

Mr. John E Mitchell former partner of Baker & McKenzie www.bakermckenzie.com to Akerman LLP John Mitchell has more than 16 years of experience practicing in the areas of commercial restructuring, workouts and bankruptcy. John‚??s practice covers all facets of restructuring and reorganization, including the representation of lenders, creditors, debtors, and trustees.

Practice Focus

Mr. Mitchell‚?'s practice covers all facets of restructuring and Mr. Mitchell'??s practice focuses on complex bankruptcies, out-of-court workouts and sales, voluntary liquidations, receiverships, and asset sales. His experience includes bankruptcy and pre-bankruptcy workouts involving real estate, energy, oil and gas, power, food service, retail, consumer finance, and commercial vehicles and heavy equipment. Mr. Mitchell practices in all bankruptcy courts in the United States.

Dallas, TX - South America
Partner Akerman LLP 2016

Mr. David Parham former partner of Baker & McKenzie www.bakermckenzie.com., to Akerman LLP. Mr. David Parham has been recognized by Chambers for his proficiency in bankruptcy and restructuring. He has extensive experience representing corporate and partnership debtors, creditor committees, equity holders, secured and unsecured creditors, lessors and trustees in bankruptcy proceedings, litigation and workouts.

Practice Focus

Mr. Parham has represented clients in restructuring cases involving many different industries including, among others, agriculture, sports, aviation, telecommunications, distribution, retail, manufacturing, energy, mining, insurance and real estate. Mr. Parham has also handled a variety of commercial litigation matters in bankruptcy courts and in federal and state courts. These representations include prosecution and defense of claims against directors and officers for breach of fiduciary duty and cases involving allegations of fraud, fraudulent conveyance, preference and, in general, contract and business tort cases.

Chicago, IL - North America
Partner Akerman LLP 2016

Mr. Stiehl former partner in the Litigation Department of Seyfarth Shaw LLP. Where he was the Co-Chair of the Commercial Class Action Defense Practice Group. Joins Akerman's Chicago Office as an Equity Partner Mr. Stiehl is the editor of, and frequent contributor to, the Practice Group's Consumer Class Defense Blog. Jason represents clients in complex commercial disputes involving trade secrets and restrictive covenants, unfair competition, corporate espionage, contract, and intellectual property claims in both state and federal court. He also has extensive nationwide class action experience, including involvement in multi-district litigation. Mr. Stiehl has successfully obtained and defended preliminary and permanent injunctions in several jurisdictions across the country. His client experience includes nationwide representation in the pharmaceutical, consulting, banking, transportation, manufacturing, advertising, real estate, employment, medical equipment, computer, and automotive industries. His appellate experience includes presenting oral arguments before several federal Circuit Courts as well as the Illinois Supreme Court.

Mexico City, Mexico - Latin America

2014

Prominent Team of Transactional Lawyers Joins Baker & McKenzie in Mexico

Group Placement by Beatrice O'Brien of Attorney Placements International LLC
Baker & McKenzie Mexico welcomes a group of distinguished transactional lawyers in Mexico City to continue expanding its corporate, mergers and acquisitions, infrastructure and telecommunications practices.

The team of lawyers is formed by Carlos Valencia, Miguel B. de Erice, Tatiana Escribano, Luis √Ālvarez, Javier Zenteno, Gabriel Salinas and Karina Duyich, who join the Firm's transactional groups and bring with them extensive knowledge and expertise in key areas including energy, mergers and acquisitions, telecommunications, infrastructure, and corporate matters. Carlos Valencia and Tatiana Escribano join Baker & McKenzie as partners in the corporate/mergers and acquisitions practice, while Miguel de Erice joins as partner in the real estate and infrastructure practice.

"The integration of this team into Baker & McKenzie is part of our growth and development strategy, which we have been steadily driving in recent years, and responds to our commitment to offering value-added services to clients through highly qualified and experienced professionals in the practices the market demands," said Andres Ochoa- Bunsow, the Firm's national managing partner. "We are certain that the expertise of these new professionals will enrich our transactional practices significantly in these times when the country is undergoing historical transitions due to recent reforms."

With more than 50 years of successful operations as the largest legal services firm in Mexico and over 300 professionals - including more than 100 transactional lawyers with this new integration - Baker & McKenzie is the only firm in the country with an integral, highly specialized professional team across a wide range of legal practices.

About the Lawyers

  • Carlos Valencia has over 35 years of experience in cross-border mergers and acquisitions, restructuring and reorganizations, and in public and private project financing. He has advised companies on regulatory matters, including antitrust, as well as in foreign investment projects that span technology, media, and telecommunications. Carlos has participated in four of the five most important cross-border restructuring processes since the enactment of the Insolvency Proceedings Law (Ley de Concursos Mercantiles). The international publication Chambers & Partners acknowledges Carlos in the Latin America and global editions for his vast experience and knowledge on the matters he has consulted, and as a great dealmaker. Latin Lawyer 250 and The Legal 500 Latin America have highlighted his great professionalism as well as the accomplishments of his Corporate/Mergers & Acquisitions practice.
  • Miguel B. de Erice brings to the Firm more than 25 years of experience in infrastructure projects and privatization processes, including toll highways, cross-border bridges, railroads, airports, satellites, BRTs, ports, water treatment plants, independent power producers (IPP) and for the provision of services (PPS) projects, as well as related regulatory matters. He has advised the Mexican federal government and major international companies on infrastructure, energy, administrative law, communications, project finance and technology matters, including participation in legislation drafting groups. He is continually recognized by Chambers Latin America and Legal 500 for his expertise and excellent reputation in the practices he represents.
  • Tatiana Escribano has advised foreign and domestic companies on negotiations and preparation of local and international agreements and contracts. She has represented major corporations in cross-border mergers and acquisitions, restructuring and reorganizations, and public and private project financing. In addition to her expertise in corporate topics, Tatiana has also participated in regulatory matters in connection with antitrust, foreign investment and telecommunications projects. She has been acknowledged by Chambers Latin America and Legal 500 Latin America in the Corporate/M&A practice for her impressive responsiveness, experience and commercial pragmatism.
http://www.bakermckenzie.com

LATIN AMERICA

Baker & McKenzie - Law Firm of the Year 2014

Dear Beatrice,

I am delighted to inform you that Baker & McKenzie Latin America was recently recognized as the recipient of the 2014 Latin America Law Firm of the Year Award by Chambers & Partners Latin America. This prestigious award was commemorated during the 2014 Latin America Awards ceremony in Miami, FL which was attended by our region's leadership committee.

When presenting the award, the editor had this to say: "Baker & McKenzie has impressed us with its tremendous growth and development during the past year. It enjoys an excellent reputation in North, Central and South America, and clients praise its exceptional service and commercial awareness."

As you may recall, last year Baker & McKenzie was selected as the first-ever recipient of the Regional Client Service Award by Chambers Latin America. As a client-driven firm, we hold these awards from Chambers in high regard as they reflect the views of our clients on the service we provide, and the value we add to their business.

It is with this in mind that we would like to extend our deepest gratitude for your continued trust in Baker & McKenzie. We consider this award to be a shared milestone in both our region's history and our working relationship with you.

I look forward to our continued work together and to the many achievements that lay ahead.

Sincerely,

Claudia Farkouh Prado

Member of the Executive Committee
Chairman, Latin America Regional Council



LOS ANGELES, USA, INDIA

Sam 2014

"If there were a fairy godmother for top attorneys seeking lateral placements in Big Law, Beatrice O'Brien of Attorney Placements International LLC is it! Beatrice is a pro at identifying ace lawyers for lateral placement and presenting them with a variety of viable prospects. Beatrice will work at your side as your trusted counsel during the search process, providing valuable advice and helping you navigate through the transition. Searching for a new opportunity can be stressful at times, but you will sleep well at night knowing that Beatrice and Attorney Placements International are advocating for your career. Due to Attorney Placements International's extensive network and Beatrice's relentless persistence, I was able to find a great new home in Big Law. When seeking new opportunities, I highly recommend Beatrice O'Brien of Attorney Placements International LLC: consider her the Rolls Royce of legal recruiters." - Superstar Big Law Associate, Upward Bound, Sam.http://www.americanlawyer.com/id=1202667857246/The-Churn-Simpson-Thacher-Raids-Weil-in-London-Plus-More-Lateral-Moves
http://www.thedeal.com/movers/dechert-llp-hired-funds-attorney-asma-chandani.php

Placement by Beatrice O'Brien of Attorney Placements International to Big AM Law Firm 2014 www.dechert.com

 


NEW YORK, USA

Alison 2013

Beatrice O'Brien's program allowed me to achieve my dream of becoming a New York lawyer. I sat the bar exam in February 2011 and, on the basis of the user friendly and comprehensive materials I was provided, passed on my first attempt. I worked full time and studied in the evenings and on weekends which was very manageable. Beatrice then swung into action securing me a role at a great New York firm. Given that my practice is other than M&A and Banking, I knew it was always going to be a tough ask to land a position also given the current tough market conditions on the employment front. However, Beatrice has a wealth of contacts and before long, I was interviewing for a legal role in the Big Apple! Over many months of intense negotiations on my behalf, Beatrice succeeded in securing me a position at Seyfarth Shaw. One of Beatrice's key attributes, which you only appreciate once you have tried to find a job in New York on your own, is her ability to sell the skills of Australian lawyers who are still relatively unknown in many US firms. I am quite sure I would not have succeeded on my own. I am very grateful for Beatrice's efforts and would recommend her to any Australian who shares my dream of working as a lawyer in NYC. Placement by Attorney Placements International LLC to Seyfarth Shaw www.seyfarth.com



AUSTRALIA /NEW YORK

Alison 2011

Many thanks Beatrice for your assistance in obtaining an interview with a New York law firm. The market at present is particularly difficult and it is a credit to your ability that you were able to get my foot in the door. In terms of the bar reader's course, I had no problems, as a full time working lawyer, being able to complete the course. It left me very well prepared for the exam.



HONG KONG / CHINA

Cindy 2011

Beatrice is one of the hardest working headhunters I have ever known and is among the best connected. Thank you for your assistance with my job hunting.  Placement by Beatrice O'Brien of Attorney Placements International LLC to Nixon Peabody www.nixonpeabody.com



SINGAPORE / NEW YORK

Kai Luck 2010

If you are passionate about a career in the law and want to be challenged like you have never been before, the New York bar exam is definitely for you. The study process requires significant commitment and focus but if you are willing to put in the time then passing the bar exam is very achievable and is not as difficult as you might initially believe. I never felt overwhelmed throughout the process and this was due to the expert guidance and support provided by Beatrice O'Brien and her team. Beatrice ensures that each candidate has tailored course materials that explain in detail the intricacies of New York law. Beatrice also provides a flexible study plan so that you can prepare for the bar exam full-time or part-time for as long as you need before sitting the actual exam. Furthermore, lecturers are always available to respond to queries about substantive law. Significantly, Beatrice personally answers any questions you have about the process of passing the bar exam and shares her experiences and insights into becoming a lawyer in New York and breaking into the New York legal market. This kind of support is priceless and is simply not replicated in comparable New York bar exam study programs. The New York Bar Review Quality Program is well worth the time, effort and expense and I highly recommend that others participate in this enriching experience.



NEW YORK USA

Narin Xavier de Saini July 2009

Dear Beatrice, Thank you for arranging this course. I've passed on my first attempt! I look forward to working with you to secure a placement in NY and plan to spread the word about your educational insight.



NEW YORK USA

Penny Abdiel July 2009

Dear Beatrice and Amit, I passed! And at least on the MBE portion, I passed well! 
Thanks for all your help and support.



NEW YORK USA

Faisal Mian July 2009

Dear Beatrice. Good news, I passed the July 2009 NY Bar Exam. I also passed the August 2009 MPRE.



NEW YORK USA

Narin Desaini July 2009

Hi Jeff Thank you for all your help in the essay intensives. You were amazing! I passed the bar exam!



NEW YORK USA

Christos Tsonis 2009

Beatrice Just informing you that I recommended my work colleague, Sarah Chia to your program. I told her that, while there are other cheaper alternative programs on the market, it is the professionalism, ongoing support and honesty in your program sets it apart from the norm.



NEW YORK USA

Nadeesha 2009

Being admitted to the New York State bar board sounds like an incredibly daunting process and almost a fantasy to most people, particularly a law student in Australia. Thankfully though, with Beatrice O'Brien's help through the New York Quality Bar Review Program, I was able to achieve this. Beatrice helped me throughout the entire process, from my initial interest in the program, to helping me become familiar with New York legal concepts, to eventually sitting the exam not an easy task for someone who studied law in Australia. Beatrice's encouragement throughout the process, even when it seemed impossible, helped me to believe that I could do it. I was even able to find employment despite the tough economic crisis. Thank you so much Beatrice for all your help, and for making my dream of being admitted to the New York bar come true!
Kind Regards Nadeesha.



NEW YORK USA

Christos Tsonis 2009

Many thanks to the program that you put together: I found it relevant and it gave me everything I needed to succeed.



NEW YORK USA

Narin de Saini 2009

Thank you for all your help last weekend. From what I gather, we nailed most of the issues on the essays and MPT in the exam day today. I know I would not have been as confident without your coaching. Once again, thank you.



NEW YORK USA

Cathy Yu 2009

I have only been officially out of work for a little over five weeks and I don't think that there are many people in this economy that can say that they were able to go from laid off to employed at a firm that they really like within such a short period of time. I appreciate it, thank you for your help, Beatrice.  Placement by Beatrice O'Brien of Attorney Placements International LLC to Hogan Lovells www.hoganlovells.com



NEW YORK USA

Kwok Ting 2009

Dear Beatrice. I'd just like to thank you for the essay intensives, they were very helpful in not just learning the method (I think the lecturer covers IRAC and my old professors at law school who had taught in the USA also preferred that method so I was familiar with it before), but also in just getting confidence and practice in doing it under timed conditions. Best regards.



SYDNEY AUSTRALIA

Amy Hale 2009

This is my first access to my personal email since my wonderful news. You really have made all my Christmases come at once. I am still in disbelief!



SYDNEY AUSTRALIA

Michael Leith 2009

Hi Beatrice, I just thought to let you know that I passed the bar exam! Thank you for your assistance in achieving this milestone. I'll definitely be recommending your program to others. It is such a relief! Regards.


SYDNEY AUSTRALIA

Stella Bae 2009

Dear Ms. Beatrice - Fortunately, I managed to pass the MPRE and the NY Bar - Thank you.



UK LONDON

Conor Downey 2009

Paul, Hastings, Janofsky & Walker LLP, a leading international law firm, announced today that seven new partners are joining the London office, significantly strengthening the firms European practice and its capabilities to serve global clients. The new partners are Michelle Duncan, Justin Jowitt, Christian Parker, Charles Roberts, Karl Clowry, Conor Downey and Tom ORiordan. The team specializes in restructuring and insolvency, litigation, structured finance, investment funds, and real estate finance. All are currently partners with the London office of Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft LLP.Growing our European practice is a key strategy for us. The arrival of this new team, who represent some of the leading lawyers in Europe, will significantly bolster our European capabilities, another critical step toward our goal of providing exemplary client service to our global clients, said Seth M. Zachary, Chairman of Paul Hastings. The new teams reputation for practice excellence and superior client service will perfectly complement our current offerings both in London and Europe. Conor Downey Mr. Downey focuses his practice on the financing and securitization of mortgage loans, and has a broad range of experience in the UK and throughout Europe. Placement by Beatrice O'Brien of Attorney Placements International 2009 to Paul Hastings LLP www.paulhastings.com



MELBOURNE AUSTRALIA / NEW YORK USA

Ilona Roze 2008

I was introduced to Beatrice O'Brien of the New York Bar Review Quality Program through a friend who knew of my plans to move to New York. Upon signing up for the program, I studied for the bar exam while working full time, which at the time overwhelming and extremely challenging. Beatrice provided individual support throughout the process. I found the course to be well organized and it gave me the freedom to work through the materials at my own pace. When it came time to take the exam I knew that I was as prepared as I ever could be. 
After sitting the exam, Beatrice assisted me in the search for opportunities in the New York legal market. Together we customized by resume and she was a great resource in prepping me for interviews. 
It was always my dream to one day work and live in New York and the adventure continues. The process, looking back, was on both a personal and professional level one of the most rewarding experiences of my life to date. This was an adventure that would not have been possible without the New York Bar Review Quality Program and Attorney Placements International.  Placement by Beatrice O'Brien of Attorney Placements International to Akin Gump www.akingump.com



LOS ANGELES USA

Aylin Algan, 2008

As a native resident and law school graduate of California, my decision to relocate to New York after law school with plans to sit for the New York bar exam and search for a position in the legal world that would jumpstart my law career, was an endeavor of which the odds of succeeding with a smooth transition were stacked against me. Consequently, my diligence and research of finding a tailored bar review class that would prepare me appropriately for the New York Bar exam was quite extensive. My needs were very specific- I had to find a course that would allow me to study/prep for the Bar remotely from California, but I still wanted individualized attention in the event I had any substantive or procedural questions or concerns. I spoke with several different representatives for varying bar review classes in NY, but none of them came close to suiting my customized interests until I spoke with Beatrice O'Brien of New York Bar Review. 

During our initial conversation, Beatrice took the time to listen to all of my individualized needs and gave me ideas of how we could tailor the program accordingly. After much thought, Beatrice came up with a hybrid course for me that would allow me to study remotely via a series of lectures recorded live from the bar classes in NY, and also set up two 3-day intensive courses that I would attend live in New York two weeks before sitting for the bar exam to physically prepare me for the time-constraints and environmental pressures of the actual exam. During my remote preparation, I was also able to submit several practice essay exams for feedback, which really allowed me to drastically improve my writing style. 

Besides all of the above, what I valued most about the New York Bar Review Program was the mentorship Beatrice provided me with throughout the entire process. Beatrice was always available as a support mechanism, providing me with the confidence and the strength I oftentimes lacked when I became frustrated with my studies. Since I was in California, I was initially very intimidated and felt like an outsider coming in to take a Bar Exam in a state where I knew nothing about the law. Beatrice helped me overcome those barriers and made sure I walked into that exam with the highest level of skills, knowledge and confidence needed to pass. 

After passing the New York Bar Exam, Beatrice assisted me in turning my focus to my career search. Beatrice helped me customize my resume to bolster my skills and experience in a way that would fit the New York legal market and prepped me before my interviews. Much sooner than anticipated, especially during an economic downturn, I landed a position with a great firm here in New York and am on the fast track to successfully developing my career.



SYDNEY AUSTRALIA

Holly Edwards 2008

I must say it has taken me this long for the news to sink in!....Many thanks again for your help and dedication to getting me into Ropes. Placement by Beatrice O'Brien of Attorney Placements International LLC  Placement by Beatrice O'Brien of Attorney Placements International LLC to Ropes & Gray www.ropesgray.com



SYDNEY AUSTRALIA

Katie Desmond 2008

Beatrice, You have been so wonderful by sending the new materials so quickly and helping me to achieve this goal. I really appreciate your help, I know it has made the difference. Many many thanks again for all your help. Your support and assistance is greatly appreciated. Kind regards.



ADELAIDE AUSTRALIA

Jason Symons 2008

Fantastic news, I passed the bar! Nat and I are just so happy about the result, Thank you Beatrice.



NEW ZEALAND

Theresa Dabuli 2008

I sat and passed the New York bar exam last July through New York Bar Review Quality Program, Thank You Beatrice.

 

NEW YORK, USA

Richard Scharlatt 2008

Placement by Beatrice O'Brien of Attorney Placements to Seyfarth Shaw LLP. www.seyfarth.com


NEW YORK, USA

USA Brian S. Cousin, Neil A. Capobianco & Jonathan E. Goldberg, Ronald B Weisenberg and Lauren Breitman Tanen 2008

Seyfarth Shaw Adds Team of Labor and Employment Attorneys to New York City Office Brian S. Cousin, Neil A. Capobianco and Jonathan E. Goldberg Join Firm Partnership; Of Counsel and Associate also Join Firm New York, NY (March 17, 2008) -- Seyfarth Shaw LLP, one of America's leading full-service law firms, today announced that a team of employment law attorneys and litigators headed by Brian S. Cousin joined the firm's New York office. In addition to Cousin, the team includes partners Jonathan E. Goldberg and Neil A. Capobianco. Cousin had been a shareholder at Greenberg Traurig where Goldberg and Capobianco were of counsel. Ronald B. Weisenberg and Lauren Breitman Tanen also join Seyfarth Shaw; Weisenberg as of counsel and Tanen as associate. Previously, they were both associates at Greenberg Traurig. All five follow the earlier addition of former Greenberg Traurig shareholder Richard Scharlat who joined Seyfarth Shaw's Labor and Employment Department as a partner in the New York office in January. "Brian and his team are adroit litigators and they provide their clients with strategic, insightful counsel across the full spectrum of employment law matters," said J. Stephen Poor, Chair and Managing Partner of Seyfarth Shaw. "Their skills complement the strengths of our Labor and Employment Department nationally, and they deepen our team of talented labor and employment attorneys already in place in our New York office." Cousin is an experienced employment litigator with particular strengths in ERISA, restrictive covenant, trade secret, and discrimination litigation. He also has extensive experience advising U.S. and multi-national companies and executives in all aspects of employment law. In addition, Cousin and the team are experienced in representing businesses in many different industries including technology, health and fitness, retail, hospitality, wine and spirits, pharmaceutical, real estate, insurance, and financial services. Prior to joining Seyfarth Shaw, Cousin served as Leader of his former firm's New York and New Jersey Employment Litigation Practice and Leader of that firm's National ERISA Litigation Practice and National Executive Contract Group. At Seyfarth Shaw, Cousin will be the Co-Chair of the firm's National ERISA Litigation Practice and a member of the firm's Labor and Employment Steering Committee. Cousin is also expected to be a leader in the firm's Litigation and Labor and Employment practices in New York. The firm is already Chambers' rated in both ERISA and Employment Litigation, with practitioners across the country, and Cousin and his group add significant depth to the existing team. "I know I speak for all of us when I say we're thrilled to join Seyfarth Shaw's stellar team of labor and employment legal practitioners," said Cousin. "Our practice at Seyfarth Shaw will be enriched by the unsurpassed knowledge-base of our colleagues in New York and throughout the firm." Capobianco specializes in ERISA and wage and hour class action litigation and has represented and advised management in all aspects of labor, employment and employee benefits law. He has also successfully defended his clients from employment-related claims, as well as enforcing and defending restrictive covenants, among other accomplishments. He has spearheaded anti-harassment training for employees of clients and has represented employers before the EEOC, state and local human rights agencies, the unemployment division, and the federal and state departments of labor. Goldberg's practice focuses primarily on employment litigation, complex commercial litigation, and ERISA litigation, and he has successfully litigated in federal and state courts throughout the country. "Brian, Jonathan, Neil, Ron, and Lauren are experienced attorneys whose work and counsel strengthen the growing bench of labor and employment attorneys who have joined the New York office over the past few years," said Lorie E. Almon, Co-Managing Partner of Seyfarth Shaw's New York office and Vice Chair of the firm's national Wage Seyfarth Shaw Adds Team of Labor and Employment Attorneys to New York City Office and Hour Litigation Practice Group. "We look forward to integrating Brian and his team with our exceptional pool of labor and employment attorneys to build upon our group's ongoing success." Seyfarth Shaw's Labor and Employment Department consists of roughly 350 employment attorneys nationally at all levels of experience, allowing seamless representation of the firm's clients across jurisdictions. In New York, with the addition of Cousin and the team, the Firm now has over forty labor and employment lawyers. The firm's labor and employment lawyers are organized to leverage their knowledge of specific industry experience and key workplace subspecialties such as: Affirmative Action/Diversity, Business Immigration, California Labor Code Litigation, Complex Discrimination Litigation, ERISA/Employee Benefits Litigation, Employment Law Training, International Labor and Employment, Single-Plaintiff Litigation, Wage and Hour Litigation, and Workplace Counseling and Compliance Solutions. "Brian's strength in ERISA litigation, along with his team's accomplishments in restrictive covenant and trade secret litigation, create a terrific convergence nationally with our Employee Benefits and Litigation Departments," said Jeremy P. Sherman, Chair of the firm's national Labor and Employment Department. "Brian is an elite and extremely versatile complex litigator, which is a hallmark of Seyfarth Shaw's Labor and Employment practice. I am delighted to welcome the entire group to the firm." Cousin received his B.A. from Columbia College and earned his J.D. from Rutgers School of Law‚ÄĒNewark where he served as an Editor of the Rutgers Law Review. He is admitted to the state bars of New York and New Jersey, and he is admitted to practice before several U.S. District Courts, as well as the U.S. Court of Appeals for both the Second and Third Circuits. He is also a Member of the New York State Bar Association's International Employment Law Committee and a Member of the American Bar Association's Litigation and Employment Law Sections. Capobianco is an alumnus of the University of Wisconsin ‚ÄĒMadison, where he received his B.A. He earned his J.D. (magna cum laude) at New York Law School where he served as Editor of the New York Law School Law Review. Capobianco is admitted to the state bars of New York and New Jersey, and he is admitted to several U.S. District Courts, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit and the Supreme Court of the United States. He is a Member of the New York Bar Association's Labor and Employment Law Section. Goldberg graduated with his B.A. (with honors) from Swarthmore College, and he earned his J.D. (summa cum laude) at American University Washington College of Law where he was Senior Articles Editor of the American University Law Review. He is admitted to the state bars of New York and New Jersey, as well as several U. S. District Courts and the Second and Third Circuits of the U.S. Court of Appeals. He is a Member of the American Bar Association and the Association of the Bar of the City of New York. He is a Member of the Board of Directors of the America-Israel Cultural Foundation. Weisenberg received his B.S. from Cornell University and earned his J.D. at Fordham University School of Law. He is admitted to practice law in New York, New Jersey, the U.S. District Court for the District of New Jersey, and the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York. Tanen has a B.A. from Colgate University and earned her J.D. at Brooklyn Law School. She is admitted to practice law in New York and the U.S. District Court for the Eastern and Southern Districts of New York. She is also a Member of the American Bar Association's Labor and Employment Law Committee and a Member of the New York State Bar Association's Labor and Employment Law Section. Placement by Beatrice O'Brien of Attorney Placements International LLC of the entire practice group to Seyfarth Shaw www.seyfarth.com



SYDNEY AUSTRALIA

Zahra Zaidi, 2007

While perusing the Lawyers Weekly a few years ago, I stumbled upon an article about the New York Bar Review and realized that obtaining my dream job in New York was actually achievable. After obtaining some valuable legal experience at Macquarie Bank and Henry Davis York in Australia, I decided that it was time to move to the Big Apple. I discovered that the program that New York Bar Review offered was tailored to Aussie lawyers and included video lectures presented by a very personable and highly experienced teacher as well as an intensive workshop focusing on the multiple choice aspect of the exam. The multiple choice was definitely the most challenging aspect of the grueling two-day exam and the workshop helped to boost my confidence and provided me with invaluable tips. All of the New York Bar Review students during the time that I took the exam passed and that in itself speaks volumes, especially considering that the pass rate for foreign lawyers was 36.3%. A couple of weeks after I had submitted my resume to Beatrice, I got an interview with one of the largest international law firms in the world and received an offer after my first interview. 
Fortunately, I was also able to have the law firm reimburse me for the costs of the New York Bar Review program.  Placement by Beatrice O'Brien of Attorney Placements International LLC to DLA Piper www.dlapiper.com



SYDNEY AUSTRALIA

Gale Christopher 2007

Thanks Beatrice and congratulations on another great result.


SYDNEY AUSTRALIA

James Mayne 2007

I was a student of the New York Bar Review Quality Program for July 2007 ( I passed the main bar exam, thanks).


LOS ANGELES & SAN FRANCISCO USA

Darren Gardner 2007

Darren Gardner previously a partner of Minter Ellison I got a call from Beatrice and she explained to me she thought she had an opportunity that I might be interested in talking about and she made an introduction to the Managing Partner of my current firm. Placement by Beatrice O'Brien of Attorney Placements International LLC to Seyfarth Shaw www.seyfarth.com


LOS ANGELES & SAN FRANCISCO USA

Dominic Hodson 2007

What motivates experienced Australian and New Zealand lawyers to make the move to the US? For Dominic Hodson, who has been living in the US for over four years, it was the experience and the career opportunities. Hodson started with Minter Ellison in Sydney and had been working as special counsel in Minter Ellison's London office for approximately six months when the opportunity arose for him to move to the US. He is now a partner at Seyfarth Shaw in San Francisco, specializing in international employment and labor law. One of the draw cards of legal practice in the US is the sheer size of the market and the opportunities this presents for greater specialization, says Hodson. He believes that although the competition for making partner in a US firm is undeniably tough, there are more avenues open for getting there. If you are a sixth or seventh year lawyer in Australia and begin to realize that partnership opportunities in your practice area in your firm might be tight, there aren't so many alternatives, Hodson says. In the US, however it is possible to shift the focus of your legal expertise slightly in order to move into a niche market, he adds. Dominic Hodson Placement by Beatrice O'Brien of Attorney Placements International LLC to Seyfarth Shaw www.seyfarth.com

Seyfarth Shaw Deepens International Labor & Employment Practice with Addition of Darren G. Gardner and Dominic Hodson as Partners 03/08/2007 Attorneys: Darren G. Gardner, Dominic Hodson Los Angeles and San Francisco, CA (March 8, 2007) - - Seyfarth Shaw LLP, one of America's leading full service law firms, announced that Darren G. Gardner and Dominic Hodson have joined the firm as partners. They will be resident in the firm's Los Angeles and San Francisco offices. Gardner and Hodson specialize in assisting multi-national companies with their employment and labor issues outside of the United States. Gardner and Hodson join Seyfarth Shaw from Minter Ellison; a firm acknowledged globally for its high quality international employment practice that was established and led by Gardner from the firm's San Francisco office.  Gardner will head up Seyfarth Shaw's International Practice Group.

Gardner and Hodson have deep experience in international employment law on behalf of large multinational clients, with particular expertise with large multi-jurisdictional employment law projects. These projects generally have a strategic, commercial or compliance purpose.  Gardner and Hodson's portfolio will include: global compliance assessment and legal solution design; global compensation plan implementation and modification; HR due diligence and the transfer and integration of workforces as a result of merger and acquisition transactions, workforce restructures, and the preparation, review and introduction of contractual employment documents (offer letters, employment contracts, proprietary information agreements etc.) and other documents relating to employment (handbooks, policies etc.) in countries outside the United States."The addition of Darren and Dominic to Seyfarth Shaw represents the extension and depth of our firm's concentrated commitment to offering exceptional client service," stated J. Stephen Poor, Chair and Managing Partner of Seyfarth Shaw.  "Their focus on international opportunities leverages the firm's strong U.S. Labor & Employment presence and provides relevant circumstances for international growth in the L&E and other practice groups within the firm.  I'm delighted to welcome them to Seyfarth Shaw."

Seyfarth Shaw's international practice offers seasoned counsel to global businesses with operations and employees on every continent. The firm's attorneys understand the emerging and complex issues facing the global marketplace and how those issues affect clients' business in the United States and abroad.  The firm has over 300 employment specialists at all levels of experience in the U.S., including over 100 employment lawyers in California.  Seyfarth Shaw has extensive experience in assisting clients worldwide with a range of legal matters as they relate to international business activities.  In nearly every area of law, Seyfarth Shaw has attorneys with significant knowledge of international law, including, contracts, corporate governance, environmental law, finance, immigration, intellectual property and licensing, labor and employment, mergers and acquisitions, real estate and tax.

"In bringing Darren and Dominic to Seyfarth Shaw, we have greatly strengthened our ability to help clients achieve their international goals," stated Jeremy P. Sherman, Chair of Seyfarth Shaw's Labor and Employment Practice.   "Many of the L&E clients we represent have multi-national operations.  Darren's and Dominic's proven record of bringing solutions to large US multinational clients with cross-border employment needs is a natural fit for our practice and the ongoing growth of the entire firm.  They are exceptionally strong additions to Seyfarth Shaw."

Gardner is admitted as a legal practitioner of the Supreme Court of New South Wales and the High Court of Australia.  He is admitted to practice in the United Kingdom and is registered as a Foreign Legal Consultant of the California State Bar Association.  Hodson admitted as a legal practitioner of the Supreme Court of New South Wales and the High Court of Australia.

"Dominic and I are delighted to be joining Seyfarth Shaw," stated Gardner.  "We came across because the firm is a powerhouse L&E brand noted for its strong national US presence and platform and its cutting-edge high quality service. With our complementary international skill set it establishes a tremendous base for us to provide a truly global service for clients.  We are really looking forward to working closely with our new colleagues and enhancing the firm's brand further in the U.S. and internationally."  Placement by Beatrice O'Brien of Attorney Placements International of the entire group to Seyfarth Shaw www.seyfarth.com

NEW YORK  USA

Alex Purtil 2007

Placement by Beatrice O'Brien of Attorney Placements International to Weil Gotshall Manges LLP www.weil.com


NEW YORK  USA

Waqaas Fahamawi 2007

Placement by Beatrice O'Brien of Attorney Placements International to Debevoise & Plimpton LLP www.debevoise.com


NEW YORK  USA / LONDON UK

Victoria Chen 2007

Placement by Beatrice O'Brien of Attorney Placements International to Fried Frank LLP www.friedfrank.com



NEW YORK NEW JERSEY USA

Kevin Evans 2007

Originally from the UK and now a senior associate at Atanaskovic Hartnell in Sydney, specializing in corporate M&A and private equity, is moving to New York later this year to take up a position with Gibbons PC. As he has previously worked at the London office of a large New York firm and experienced what he describes as the billable hours culture, a draw card of Gibbons PC was its emphasis on maintaining a sensible work-life balance. With two young children, my desire to bill 100+ hours a week has somewhat diminished, Evans says. Placement by Beatrice O'Brien of Attorney Placements International LLC to Gibbons P.C. www.gibbonslaw.com




NEW YORK USA

Elena Ivanovski, 2006

I met Beatrice O'Brien, the President and Founder of the New York Bar Review Quality program, at the information session she gave at the University of New South Wales as part of a series of sessions in 2004. Once I decided to go to New York, I signed up for the program. I studied for the bar exam while in my final semester of University, and as the exam date drew closer, the study became overwhelming with 17 subjects worth of information that needed to be remembered, processed, analyzed and conveyed during the 2 day, 8 hour per day, exam. It became full time work with a 12 hour day divided between listening to lectures and doing practice papers. Ultimately, it was a question of perseverance and during that time any logistical and moral support became essential to reaching the finish line. Beatrice provided individual support throughout the process. 

Having sat the bar I began the interview process. In the competitive legal market of New York, where one is up against candidates of the highest caliber, the process is grueling. With a growing reputation, eminent contacts, unremitting dedication and individual and innovative approach, Attorney Placements International made it possible for me. Beatrice seemed to know all the ins and outs of every firm and devoted a tremendous amount of her personal time and effort to make sure I got the placement that I wanted. For me the process was a challenge, both personal and professional, but in the end, within a relatively short time I was placed at an exceptional firm and with the practice group I was most interested in. 

The New York Bar Review Quality Program has helped many students, including myself, to broaden their horizons. Personal support, a professional approach, relentless dedication and focus have been key to the 98% passing rate of the New York Bar Review Quality Program's candidates.

The same outstanding methodology of Attorney Placements International has greatly contributed to the growing esteem and value placed by the New York legal market in Australian lawyers. It is rare that you get to exactly the point you were striving for. The Quality Program and Attorney Placements helped me get there.

 

Placement by Beatrice O'Brien of Attorney Placements International LLC to Davis Polk www.davispolk.com



NEW YORK, USA /ADELAIDE AUSTRALIA

Melissa Godwin 2006

I just love the city Ms. Godwin said. It is so exciting and the opportunities to work here are just incredible. Placement by Beatrice O'Brien of Attorney Placements International LLC to Sullivan Cromwell www.sullcrom.com



NEW YORK, USA

Steven Katz 2005

Placement by Beatrice O'Brien of Attorney Placements International to Moses & Singer www.mosessinger.com


NEW YORK, USA

Michael Pearson 2005

Placement by Beatrice O'Brien of Attorney Placements International to Morgan & Lewis www.morganlewis.com


NEW YORK, USA

Jeffrey Ourvan 2005

Placement by Beatrice O'Brien of Attorney Placements International to Greenberg Taurig LLP www.gtlaw.com